nrampNMSU’s teacher preparation programs have been National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) accredited since 1962. In 1971 the institution submitted materials in application for examination for full accreditation for the Ph.D. degree programs in Educational Administration Educational Psychology, Elementary and Secondary Education; the Ed.D. degree programs in Educational Administration, Educational Psychology, Elementary and Secondary Education.

On July 1, 2013, the national accreditation bodies of NCATE and the Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC) consolidated into the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) as the new accrediting body for teacher educator preparation. The College of Education at New Mexico State University is guided by CAEP’s standards for Educator Preparation Programs (EPPs), which center on:  (1) Preparing teachers who have strong content and pedagogical knowledge, (2) Meaningful field experiences, (3) Attracting competitive and diverse cohorts, (4) Impacting the P-12 students in their classrooms upon graduation, and (5) Regular self-assessment and evidence based decision to make continuous improvements to our programs. This contributes to the continuous improvement that ensures that the College of Education’s educator preparation programs here at NMSU produce successful educators.

In addition, the College’s programs are accredited by seven different accrediting agencies. These are:

  • American Psychological Association (APA)
  • Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education (CAATE)
  • The Council on Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (CAA)
  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling & Related Educational Programs (CACREP)
  • National Association of School Psychologists (NASP)
  • National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE)
  • New Mexico Public Education Department (NMPED)